changing faces

When I was born at the shores of the river Spree more than 60 summers back, I entered this strange world rather calm and serene. It took a cold shower to wrench the first cry from me. After I had experienced my very start as being thrown at the deep end, there was not much left to shock me further on ...

Now - after my years of travel - I live in Hamburg. My intermediate stations in lower Saxony were Wingst at the Balk lake (county of Stade) and Mevenstedt near Worpswede in the devils moore (county of Osterholz-Scharmbeck). In the former cloister town Zeven (county of Bremervörde) I visited the St. Viti-Gymnasium and later I moved with my parents to Scheeßel (county of Rotenburg/ Wümme).

After completing my studies in chemistrycomputer scienceoriental studies and macroeconomics in Hamburg to my surprise I found an attractive job here. But soon I moved on to Aachen, back to Hamburg, to Frankfurt respectively Bad Soden at the Taunus, to Klagenfurt at the shores of the Wörther lake (Austria), and back again to Hamburg.

My studies were interesting and I took them serious. - But most important for me was to travel - to Asia, Africa and Southern America. These journeys had great influence to my life.

For about twenty years the nomad tried to settle down. Monte dos Sarilhos, a farm and a large and dry piece of Land in the rural Portuguese Alentejo, hat the power to tie me to its red soil and an old farmhouse made of clay and stone. This magic place (Google Earth Placemark) might have made me stick to it for a longer while ... but the times they are changing - I am on the move again!

Horst Walther, Hamburg

Gesichter im Wandel

Als ich vor mehr als 60 Sommern an den Ufern der Spree geboren wurde, betrat ich sehr gelassen diese seltsame Welt. Es bedurfte erst einer kalten Dusche, um mir den ersten Schrei abzuringen. Nachdem ich meinen Start also wahrhaft als Sprung ins kalte Wasser erlebt hatte, konnte mich nicht mehr viel erschüttern ...

Ich wohne jetzt - nach meinen Wanderjahren - in Hamburg. Meine Zwischenstationen in Niedersachsen waren Wingst am Balksee (Kreis Stade) und Mevenstedt bei Worpswede im Teufelsmoor (Kreis Osterholz-Scharmbeck). In der ehemaligen Klosterstadt Zeven (Kreis Bremervörde) bin ich zum St. Viti-Gymnasium gegangen und später mit meinen Eltern nach Scheeßel (Kreis Rotenburg/ Wümme) gezogen.

Nach meinen Studien der ChemieInformatikOrientalistik und Volkswirtschaftslehre in Hamburg fand ich hier überraschend einen attraktiven Job. Doch bald zog es mich weiter nach Aachen, wieder nach Hamburg, Frankfurt bzw. Bad Soden am Taunus, nach Klagenfurt am Wörthersee (Österreich), und wieder zurück nach Hamburg.

Meine Studien waren interessant und ich habe sie ernst genommen. - Am wichtigsten aber waren mir meine Reisen nach Asien, Afrika und Südamerika. Sie haben mich stark geprägt.

Zwanzig Jahre lang hat der Nomade die Sesshaftigkeit geprobt. Monte dos Sarilhos, ein Bauernhof und ein großes trockenes Stück Land im bäuerlichen portugiesischen Alentejo, hatten die Kraft mich zwei Jahrzehnte an seine rote Erde und ein uraltes Bauernhaus aus Bruchstein und Lehm zu binden. Diese Kraft hätte dieser magische Ort (Google Earth Placemark) auch noch länger gehabt ... aber die Zeiten sind nicht so - ich bin wieder unterwegs!

Horst Walther, Hamburg